The Akenten Appiah-Menka University of Skills Training and Entrepreneurial Development (AAMUSTED), was established on August 27, 2020, under Act 1026 of 2020 of the Parliament of the Republic of Ghana.

AAMUSTED was formed from the College of Technology Education, Kumasi (COLTEK) and the College of Agriculture Education (CAGRIC), Asante-Mampong, which were campuses of the University of Education, Winneba.

The University traces its history to the evolution of COLTEK and CAGRIC. COLTEK started as a Technical Teachers College (TTC) in 1966 and later metamorphosed into the Kumasi Advanced Technical Teachers College (KATTC) in 1978.

The College of Agriculture Education on the other hand, evolved from the St. Andrews Training College, Akropong-Akwapim in the Eastern Region, which was established in 1946 by the Presbyterian Church of Ghana (PCG) and the Scottish Mission.

The KATTC and the St. Andrews Training College were part of the seven (7) Diploma-Awarding Institutions which were amalgamated to form the University College of Education, Winneba (UCEW) by PNDC Law 322, in 1992.

UCEW was weaned from the University of Cape Coast and became an autonomous University in 2004, under Act 672 of the Parliament of the Republic of Ghana.

Our Mandate

a. provide higher education in technical, vocational, and entrepreneurial training to develop skilled manpower for job creation and economic development,

b. train and provide teachers with the relevant competence for teaching in technical and vocational education and training institutions,

c. train and provide teachers with the relevant competence for teaching entrepreneurial development, and

d. develop strong linkages between the University and (i) industry, or (ii) the community, to ensure the holistic training of teachers.

Basic Services and Opportunities

  1.  Training of students in TVET for job creation and economic development
  2. Training of teachers in TVET institutions for effective teaching and learning
  3. Training to equip teachers with skills and competencies to develop the entrepreneurial knowledge and knowhow of students

  4. Development of linkages with industry, commerce, and the community for effective training of teachers

Profile of AAMUSTED

  • The University currently has nine (9) Faculties and twenty-three (23) Academic Departments.
  • The main Campus at Kumasi has five (5) Faculties and twelve (12) Academic Departments, while Asante-Mampong Campus has four (4) Faculties and eleven (11) Academic Departments.

  • The University has established a Centre for Competency-Based Training and Research (CCBTR), which oversees and implements Competency-Based Training activities and programmes in the country,

  • There is a Counselling Centre and a Directorate for Teacher Professional Development and Research, among others.

Location of AAMUSTED

The main campus is located in Kumasi, the second-largest city in Ghana and seat of the Asante Kingdom, off the Kumasi-Sunyani Highway.

It is about 280 kilometers northwest of Accra. The Asante-Mampong Campus, which is 63 kilometers from the main campus is located in Asante-Mampong, the seat of the Silver Stool of the Asante Kingdom.

Basic Opportunities for Learners

  1. Training to become a competent professional teacher in TVET, Entrepreneurship, and other areas of specialisation
  2. Training to develop technical and vocational expertise for industry.
  3. Training to develop necessary entrepreneurial skills for job creation.

  4. Critical thinking, research and leadership.