AAMUSTED-UTAG Branch Elects New Leaders

You are currently viewing AAMUSTED-UTAG Branch Elects New Leaders

Prof. Yarhands Dissou Arthur, Dean for the Faculty of Applied Sciences and Mathematics Education (FASME), has been elected President for the Kumasi Campus, Akenten Appiah-Menka University of Skills Training and Entrepreneurial Development (AAMUSTED) Branch, of the University Teachers Association of Ghana (UTAG).

He polled 91 votes representing 64.08% of valid votes cast to wrest the position from Dr. Stephen Baffour Adjei, the incumbent. Dr. Adjei could only poll 51 (35.92%) of the valid votes, to botch his dream of securing a second consecutive term.

Prof. Yarhands Dissou Arthur


The August 16, 2023, UTAG elections also saw Dr. Lydia Takyi amassing 92 (64.34%) valid votes cast to beat Dr. Asare Kotor in the Vice-Presidential race. Dr. Kotor, the incumbent Vice-President could also only manage 51 (35.66%) of the valid votes.

The race for the Secretary position ended with a close result. Dr. Courage S. K. Dogbe annexed the position with 78 (54.92%) valid votes as against the 64 (45.08%) votes polled by Mr. Jonathan Essuman.

Mr. Ofori Debrah also polled 127 ‘Yes’ votes in an unopposed contest for the Treasurer position of the Association. The newly elected executives would serve for two years each and may be open to contest for another term.

The electioneering ahead of voting was, perhaps, the fiercest ever witnessed in AAMUSTED, dating back to the days when the University served as a College of the University of Education Winneba (UEW).

The Presidential race drew the greatest of attention as the incumbent projected the achievements of his first term and made a case to be given another term to do more. He also challenged his opponent to show proof of any achievement when he led the Association in the days when AAMUSTED was under UEW.

Prof. Arthur, on the other hand, would not only respond with a list of his own achievements but highlight the need to ‘rescue and revive’ AAMUSTED UTAG because the current administration had been woeful in advocating the welfare needs of members. Similar heated campaigns were done in the race for the other positions.

Eventually, when the dust settled, Prof. Arthur, won a resounding victory. In a thank-you epistle to members, he minced no words about the keenness of the contest, which he said stretched him to the elastic limit. He asked members to put the elections behind them and rally together to pursue their mutual interests.

“I pledge to run an all-inclusive and open administration; I will count on the support and guidance of my predecessors whenever necessary because I respect the vast experiences, they garnered during the time they led our noble Association,” he stressed.

In a similar fashion, Dr. Lydia Takyi, Dr. Dogbe, and Mr. Ofori Debrah have also extended appreciation and gratitude to voters for reposing their confidence in them by the pattern of the votes.

Whereas Dr. Takyi sees the people’s votes as the fuel that would power her determination to make a meaningful difference in the lives of UTAG Members, Dr. Dogbe promises to use the opportunity as a UTAG Secretary to serve the good of the Association.

Mr. Fritz R. K. Bonsu


In a related development, the UTAG at the Asante Mampong Campus of the University also elected Mr. Fritz R. K. Bonsu, President; Dr. Isaac Owusu-Mensah, Vice-President; Mr. Eric Twum Ampofo, Secretary; and Dr. Janice Dwomoh Abraham, Treasurer.

The contestants for the various positions were unopposed. They received an overwhelming endorsement from the 51 eligible voters, who participated in the ‘Yes’ or ‘No’ votes. They polled 96 % to 100% of the valid votes cast.